The Last Course REALLY – Biscuit Success! Pt. 3

29 Jul

Melanie's Adventure in making desserts from The Last Course by Claudia Fleming

Over the past few days I’ve been obsessed with the cookbook, The Last Course by Pastry Chef Claudia Fleming who by the way is the currently at The North Fork Table & Inn in Southhold, NY.  I have convinced my dinner bestie Maria that we must go for a visit.  There is nothing like fab food and great fellowship with a few cocktails along the way!

So my obsession is how can I get my biscuits to be tall and perky vs. flat and round.  I figured it out late last night.  After thinking about how to get the perfect biscuit, it dawned on me that I had a recipe from another Chef and he baked his biscuits in stainless steel rings.  The end result were tall and evenly sized biscuits. Could it work here and is the solution that simple?   Well with rings in hand, I got two sizes and went to baking.

And voilà…Success!

The biscuits were tall and perfect.  So I quickly pulled out my tarragon cream and macerated strawberries and went to work.  With surgical precision, I plated the dessert and took these pics.

If you are wondering if I ate all three biscuits, I hate to disappoint you but no.  My rule about being in the food industry is to take a bit, nibble or taste but don’t eat it all up!  I bake and nibble along the way  but rules are meant to be broken too!

Pastry Out!

One Response to “The Last Course REALLY – Biscuit Success! Pt. 3”

  1. Angela Screen Galloway August 3, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

    Glad your biscuits turned out tall; I always have flat biscuits. They are tasty, but flat. I may steal your trick for making them tall!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

