Best Restaurants in NJ Pilgrimages – Mockingbird Cafe

12 Oct

Mockingbird Cafe Photo Credit - Jen Olsen, Basking Ridge Patch

Every year New Jersey Monthly list the Best Restaurants in NJ.  This year I decided to buy it and take one of my favorite foodies along for the journey of hitting as many as we can until the next one comes out.  If you’re a regular reader, you know we have hit two restaurants on the list and understand why they are there.

Last week, Maria and I hit Mockingbird Cafe in downtown Basking Ridge.  I must admit, this was my second visit (sorry Maria)!  A few neighbors decided to have a girls’ breakfast and of course there was no doubt in my mind were to go.  The place definitely lived up to the Critics’ pick as one of the best places for Brunch.  It was delicious and inexpensive!  We all had different things to eat and everyone loved their meal.  I ordered “Clean Up on Aisle 3″ Rumble which they describe as” A bit like a messy omelette, or eggs scrambled with a lot of goodness”.  It was eggs with everything and the kitchen sink – sausage, ham, bacon, cheddar, swiss,tomatoes, onions, roasted peppers and herbs!   The eggs were perfectly cooked which I can say with 100% confidence is not my specialty.  Hey, we can’t be great at everything!  The Rumble and green tea wasn’t over $12.  Now that’s a bargain.

Now onto lunch at Mockingbird Cafe.  I was very curious if lunch could stand up to the excellence of breakfast.  My vote is in and it’s a resounding yes!  Maria had the Griggstown turkey burger and I had the Bar Harbor which is lobster blt salad with basil mayo on brioche toast.  Both meals came with hand cut fries and a small container of coleslaw.  The lobster was good and not too much mayo and nicely seasoned.  The food was good and a meal wouldn’t be complete if we didn’t have dessert.  We shared the brownie al a mode and I must say it was the BEST brownie I’ve ever eaten.  We could not stop talking about this brownie while eating it.  It was so good that a few were taken as take out but we’re pleading the 5th!

Mockingbird Cafe Inside Credit Jen Olsen Basking Ridge Patch

I can’t wait to go back and check out the dinner menu.  The Cafe is small but charming and homey but not pretentious or overly fussy.  Whether you are wearing your Birkinstocks or carrying a Birkin, you will feel at home.  The restaurant seats about 30 people at a time so be prepared to wait if you hit it on the weekend. Oh, and they don’t have a website so you’ll just have to trust me on this one.  Urbanspoon does have their menu online so check it out (http://www.urbanspoon.com/u/menu/1540873).  I should have taken pictures of my meal but clearly I was focused on one thing…eating!

Pastry Out!

2 Responses to “Best Restaurants in NJ Pilgrimages – Mockingbird Cafe”

  1. Lynn Arbeit October 13, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Thanks for the link Mel, I am signing up for email notifications now!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

