To Thai or Not to Thai

27 Jul

Every Tuesday, I go to movies and  have meal with one of my BFs Brenda.  Today, it was all about a great meal.  I made a day trip to Maryland (yes friends and family I snuck in and out today for 3 hours).  To hit a movie and dinner was a bit much since I’m not sure that after the lights went out I would be able to keep my eyes open.  As usual we text back and forth throughout the day to determine where will we break bread and catch up.  Should we go to a place we haven’t been to in a while, hit a chain, or try somewhere new?  The decisions was narrowed down to pizza or thai.  Well it wasn’t a hard decision since my favorite Thai restaurant was on the table.  I love eating at Orgins in Basking Ridge, NJ.  I even have a favorite server, Chon.  Even when I don’t seat in her section, she comes over to say hello and make sure all is well.  Love her!

Here are my recommendations on what to order if you go to Origins.  For appetizers, try the shrimp and crab spring rolls.  They are nicely fried with a honey colored crispy outside.  If you don’t like or eat crustaceans try the golden curry puff.  It’s a soft pie like dough shaped like a mini Jamaican bean pie.  Inside a finely minced chicken seasoned with curry greets your taste buds with an awesome explosion of flavor.  For an entree, there are several great noodle dishes.  Besides the obvious pad thai, I love, love, love pad see ew topped with chicken.  There’s something about the flat noodles with broccoli that makes me happy!  If you get the chance to hit the Somerville location they offer a curry chicken pot pie topped with Malaysian puff pastry as a special from time to time.  For people who prefer to be a little safer, the grilled to perfection options are for you.  Grilled shrimp, steak or squid, fish or chicken with sticky rice and grilled vegetables.  I prefer the grilled shrimp – they are a great size and this meal is very satisfying.

The finale to the evening is the desserts. I have tried every dessert on the menu except one – (Poached pear -I’ll get to it one day but at least I added a pic for you!).  My favorite is the chocolate cake souffle with coffee ice cream.  The cake is baked in a tart shell so it looks like a little flower topped with whipped cream on plate decorated with a plaid stripe design all done in chocolate and  a few berries strategically placed. Others I recommend are: sticky rice with mango and the pear frangipane tart.  The portions are petite but enough to satisfy your inner sugar addiction.

Two other cool things about Origin, you can dress casual and it is byob!

 

Note: Pictures are from Origins photo gallery.  www.originsthai.com

Pastry out!

3 Responses to “To Thai or Not to Thai”

  1. Angela Screen Galloway July 28, 2011 at 12:35 am #

    Thanks for the great reveiw! Although I’m not in the area, you make me want to come just for the Thai food (which is one of my favorites!!!). Keep ’em coming!

  2. Lissa Dohl July 28, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    I often think back to our dinner there – haven’t been since but I sure did love it!

Leave a Reply

